Beauty Essentials – Batiste Dry Shampoo Review

Batiste Dry Shampoo Range

I used to be one of those people who washed my hair every day. Yes, every single morning when I was having a shower I would shampoo and condition my hair. Hairdressers used to tell me not to and that I should at least try to reduce it to every second or third day. This would apparently be much healthier for my hair. And I have shoulder length hair, so the time element each morning in washing, drying and styling it was quite an investment. But, because I was used to washing my hair daily, I almost felt like I hadn’t even had a shower if I didn’t wash it.

That is until I discovered dry shampoo! Batiste dry shampoo to be exact! I simply LOVE this stuff and it is now quite literally my most essential haircare product.

So, how does it work?

Well, for me, it is a genius product. On the day I wash my hair, I blowdry and straighten it too. The next day, it’s still good to go. On day 3, enter Mr. Batiste! The tropical one is my favourite. I find the fragrance fresh and fabulous without being too fruity of floral (if that scent description makes any sense). So, I brush my hair and it usually looks quite flat on day 3. Then I simply give the bottle a vigourous shake (important!) then spray it into my roots in sections. So from right to left, I section my hair and spray into the roots about four times in total. I then leave it (making my hair look scarily gray!) for about 5 minutes. That’s when the genius bit happens! I run my fingers through my hair quite vigourously to create a bit of volume and brush the dry shampoo through a little too. Then viola! Clean, dry, non-greasy hair with a nice bit of volume.

I continue this regime until I wash my hair again. I’m now down to washing my hair around every 4 to 5 days. Yes, I understand to some that sounds bad. But my hair looks and feels so much fresher, cleaner, less oliy and far more managable. Friends have even commented over the last year on how good my hair looks and I honestly think it is 100% down to much less washing and my Batiste.

I usually buy the larger 200ml bottle for day to day use and carry the fab mini 50ml can in my handbag for touch-ups when I’m out and about.

This product has literally changed my life. And no, that is not an exageration!

I lived in the US for a few months in 2014 and I couldn’t find Batiste in Wallgreens or Target or anywhere really. Until I went to New York City for a weekend, where I found it and was delighted, only for it to be confiscated from my hand-luggage on my way back to Georgia! So, I did try some other brands of dry shampoo with NO SUCCESS. They just didn’t work for me at all!

I hope you find this review useful. Please share and comment on your dry shampoo experiences. I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

